Flux Health Forum

Post Stroke repair

I suffered a stroke in December. I have made a good recovery and full of gratitude that it wasn’t worse. I am however weak in my speech and fine dexterity. Can anyone advise the best way to use my M1. i am a total newbie to this and not in the least scientific.

Solas,

Our host is probably the one who could give you the most information of stroke recovery and his book “Stroke of Luck” is on Amazon. (Don’t accidentally buy the $83 version. Unlimited Kindle has it for free.)

That being said, for stroke recovery, I would start with a TED Talk.

It is usually paired with a rehab therapy. Here is an example of it being used with hand therapy.

My understanding is that there is more than one way to use it. One is to stimulate the nerves to the brain and that can be from anywhere.

TMS isn’t the only thing which “works” and I say that because people use electric foot massagers, which stimulate the nerves at the feet and that is based on a study out of Hong Kong where the stroke recovery patients were 83% more likely to walk again if they used the electric foot massager. The concept behind that was stimulating the nerves in the feet. Vibration plates do the same thing and have been used sometimes for stroke.

The Brain That Changes Itself is a documentary and it shows a woman getting balance back by stimulating the nerves to the tongue.

Cold lasers and ultrasound and electric acupuncture are other technologies, which have been used.

TMS though has been used directly on the brain and the TED talk shows that.

I think the biggest part is doing the repetition of new things and these devices are meant to increase the chance of having the neurons applied to the function you are trying to get back.

Adjuncts would be use of aerobic exercise before or after therapy which increases BDNF

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23907078