Flux Health Forum

Thoughts on Pain and Inflammation

From Bob Dennis, owner of Micro-Pulse; I have a financial interest in the sale of PEMF devices, so please take that potential bias into account when considering my statements

My primary motivation for developing ICES-PEMF, which has become the core technology for Micro-Pulse, is that I was suffering very severe, crippling chronic lower back pain from a long series of injuries to my back. I have a lot of direct, personal experience with PEMF and pain. This is really what I designed the Micro-Pulse system for, so I have much more to contribute about this topic than the other uses of PEMF.

At its worst in ~ 2007, the only treatments that gave me any relief were chiropractic, inversion, and opioids. All combined, on a good day I could manage my pain from a 10 down to a 6 or 7. But sometimes these did not help, and I spent a lot of time in a spiral of increasing desperation.

At that time, I was developing a commercial cell-processing PEMF system based on the PEMF system I had developed for NASA in 1996-97. One night, at 1:00AM, in blinding pain and out of sheer desperation, I strapped the clunky commercial PEMF coil from the system I was building onto my lower back. Within 14 minutes the pain had subsided and I had the most profound lower back “self-adjustment” I had ever experienced. The cracking sounds were clearly audible, and my spine settled into a wonderful, pain-free alignment. This lasted about 2-3 days, and the pain slowly returned as my spine went out of alignment over time. I reapplied this crude PEMF again, a large and cumbersome commercial system that was abut the size of a microwave oven, and again my back realigned itself and the pain quickly dissipated.

With PEMF, my pain immediately went down to a 2 or 3, and progressively continued over the course of months to reduce down to zero pain with daily use. I discontinued the use of opioids but continue to use PEMF on my lower back every day.