Flux Health Forum

Length of time matters

I was reading PEMF research tonight and saw one from 1991 with 139 nonunion fractures and it gave “success rates” based on hours PEMF was used and the difference was so striking that I thought I would post it.

People using PEMF for MORE than 3 hours per day had an 80% success rate.
People using PEMF for LESS than 3 hours per day had a 35.7% success rate.

That sounds like length of time matters a lot.

1 Like

And this is precisely what I have been saying for many years now.
The use of PEMF in a clinic for one or two short sessions per week is totally inadequate. To be really effective, PEMF should be applied at low intensity and for at least 6 to 8 hours per day, every day, and continued for several weeks after symptoms (basically pain and inflammation) have subsided, to allow the tissue to finish its full recovery.

But a lot of people just want a quick fix, most PEMF companies pander to those people, and many clinicians do not see how to make money when properly using PEMF and therefore use treatment periods that are vastly too short to get the full therapeutic effect of PEMF, so we end up with a massive amount of mis-information and a lot of cases where PEMF apparently failed to work, but it was simply because it was not applied correctly.

Sure, a few short sessions of PEMF seems convenient, and it generates a lot of clinical revenue by pumping many people through the their PEMF facility every day, but that is simply not a very effective way to use PEMF.

When used improperly this way, PEMF does not pass rigorous testing, it does not get regulatory approval or respectable scientific publications, skeptics have one more reason to say PEMF is bunk, and hundreds of millions (actually billions) of people continue to suffer needlessly.

So, yes indeed, time matters.

6 Likes

I looked up a PEMF blood pressure study for someone on Nutritionfacts.org and found a study with a small positive effect.